Your selfies are about to get a lot less temporary. Snapchat has announced plans to roll out a new feature, called Memories, within the next month. Now, instead of Snaps disappearing after 1-10 seconds (or 24 hours if you’ve uploaded them to a story), you can save them within the app ~forever~ and relive them any time you want. Crazy, right?
So let’s get some things straight. First, the app won’t automatically save all your embarrassing selfies, sexy pics, and dog filter photos. You have to do the archiving yourself. So if you see a Snap you want to keep, simply hit the save button in the bottom left corner (looks like an arrow pointing down at a bracket), and voila-Memories made. This button previously saved pics to your phone, but now Snapchat is cutting out the middleman and saving them in-app in its new feature. So don’t worry, if you snapped a photo so humiliating it shouldn’t see the light of day, you can still send it to a friend knowing it will disappear within 1-10 seconds as planned.
Second, not everyone has access to Memories yet. The update is widely available, but Snapchat is selectively activating the new feature phone-by-phone. So you might have it, but you also might not (I don’t). To find out if you do, try to save a pic using the save button. If it saves to your phone, you don’t have it yet. If it saves to “Memories,” well, you’re one of the lucky few who have the feature already. To access your Memz archive, swipe up from the camera screen. There, you can sort snaps into different stories (combining different snaps to create a new story or compiling several stories into one massive one-whatever ya want). Oh, and you can send any of these Memories snaps to your friends and add them to your story for a little #tbt action. The app will just throw a frame around the image to indicate that it’s an oldy (but a goodie!).
One more thing: If you have some ~interesting~ content that you don’t want others to be able to see, you can send it to the “My Eyes Only” portion of your Memories archive. This is so you can show your Memories to your friends in a fun social setting without revealing anything too sketch. To be clear: Memories are private unless you send them to people, add them to your story, or show them to others in-person. But this can help you avoid showing your parents an R-rated Memory while sharing a Memory story from a recent vacation.
Happy Snapping. Looks like it’s time to make some ~Memories~.
Watch a full demonstration of the new feature below.
The post Snapchat’s New Memories Feature Takes Your Selfies From Temporary To Everlasting appeared first on SELF.